Book Review: Fearless by Patricia Hamill

29536034.jpg

Thought Provoking. 4/5 stars.

Fearless by Patricia Hamill is the story of survival during a zombie apocalypse. It is told through the diary of a young woman who narrates the horrors, the successes, the failures, the laughter and the tears of a group of people as they struggle through their daily lives. Interestingly enough, the main character is never named.

But for the purpose of this review, I will name her ‘Lady’.

‘Lady’ refuses to know the names of those surrounding her. To do so, makes it too personal and thus too painful, if they should die. Instead, she gives them names like Blonde Guy, Artist, Surfer etc.

The emotions described by ‘Lady’ are powerful – the moral choice of what to do through tough times, quite thought provoking. What would you do if in her exact shoes?

‘Lady’ is tough, aggressive, decisive and not always popular because of those characteristics. I found her credible and consistent in personality, so important in any fiction writing, but particularly when using a strong first person POV such as this. And she grows, just as many people would when facing such abysmal situations.

As a huge fan of The Walking Dead, I found Hamill’s writing technique [using a diary format] a fresh and innovative way to tell an apocalyptic story. Her sentences are beautifully crafted, painting vivid pictures of a dreadful era we hope to never see.

The only difficulty I experienced was during the initial parts of the book. The detailed day-to-day drudgery of survival became a little too monotonous for me. But from the moment ‘Lady’ becomes leader, meets Blonde Man etc, I found the book hard to put down.

As for the final chapter?

It completely blew me away.

I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest, non-reciprocal review.

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Fearless by Patricia Hamill

      1. Hiya Neven. Phew how did you know that? I’m a huge fan of the Walking Dead, especially Andrew Lincon. After watching the first two seasons, it was bugging me that he was familiar but I just couldn’t put my finger on who he was. In the end I googled the show to find out that he was in one of my favourite films Human Traffic (hilarious take on the UK drug culture) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D5jlqMwRj2I&list=PL3SFp_CkuTL8wnM7aii_byuUpFd8G8SvU&index=9 He was also in This Life which was filmed in Bristol (yeeeeey) and they even filmed a scene in the chip shop round the corner. Its amazing to think Andrew Lincon has gone from little old Bristol to zombie apocalypse in America. Good on him! Yeeeeeeeey for the Walking Dead. This season has been amazing though the end………Grrrrrrr! LOL YOU?

        Liked by 1 person

  1. OMG! I just watched your youtube link, I had no idea Andrew was British! Wow, he has come a long way. Great job with his new accent too! Yeah, I’ve been a fan from the very beginning so am looking forward to October. Personally, I reckon Maggie is the one that gets killed, she will have the biggest impact on them all, nasty Negan! Who do you reckon?

    Like

Leave a Reply

