Interview by Author – Mercedes Fox

Hey there folks! I’m on a roll meeting authors from all over the world. Allow me to introduce Neven Carr.

Forgotten 6

 Why do you write?    It’s something I have always done and have always loved doing. I began my first book at ten years old but never completed it. I turned to short stories, songs and poems for a while, then found my way back to novels. I find writing, particularly the creating process, very cathartic, energising. Better than spending money on therapy! Lol! I love existing in my own world for a while, toying with character’s lives.

What genre are your books?    Mystery/romance.

What draws you to this genre?    It’s what I love to read. I also love solving puzzles, analyzing clues. It’s been fun to actually write my own books creating such puzzles and clues.

Do you write full-time or part-time?    I began writing part-time as I was still working. I have now given up work and devote my time to writing my novels full-time. I’m very fortunate to be able to do that.

What have you written?    I have written a series of five novels called ‘The Araneya Series’. The first novel, ‘Forgotten’ has just been published. Am so excited and a tad nervous at the same time!

Do you work to an outline or plot or do you prefer just seeing where an idea takes you?    It’s a weird thing. I just start with an idea and it seems to take on a life of its own… it’s very exciting as some days I have no idea where it’s going to take me.

What advice would you give to aspiring authors?    Read, read, read every day! Write, write, write every day! Develop a routine and stick with it. Put some distance between the writing and editing process.

 Which writers inspire you?    Definitely Stephen King. And I don’t mean because he writes mainly horror stories. [I use to read them when I was younger]. It is his incredible ability to make his characters so real, so alive. You want to cry with them, laugh with them, feel their fear. He’s amazing. Thus, I have tried to make all of my characters different, with different quirks, ones that readers can identify with. I hope I have succeeded.

Who is your favorite character in your book and why?    I love all my characters; I feel a personal connection to all of them. However, I do have a soft spot for Ethan. He is such a loveable, fun guy and has such a crazy sense of humor… I call them “Ethan-isms.” He’s also a bit of a womanizer but a respectful one. Ethan slowly shook his wrist and whistled. “Francesca. Her name alone brings unhealthy pictures.”

What is one great lesson you have learned as a writer?    To accept criticisms as a positive – it took me a while but once I did, it became my strongest writing tool.

You can find out more about Neven inside the links below.

Facebook  /  Goodreads  /  Twitter

Book Links:  Amazon.com.

Neven Carr

Thanks so much Neven for the interview. Happy writing!

Leave a Reply

